The IMCCS is a Council of senior military and security experts (Participants) from both the governmental sector and nongovernmental sector committed to an open exchange of ideas on the military and security dimensions of climate change. The IMCCS also hosts an IMCCS Expert Group of select Participants that will publish the annual World Climate and Security Report. See here for details on being a Participant in the IMCCS, and here for details about the IMCCS Expert Group.

IMCCS Participants: In April 2019, the IMCCS Leadership began reaching out to military and security experts from around the world to join the IMCCS. Below is the current list of Participants.

Brigadier General Omar Ali AL Basheer (Ret)
Former Director of the Research Directory Headquarters, Jordan Armed Forces

Benedetta Berti-Alberti
Head, Policy Planning
Office of the Secretary-General, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

Hon. John Conger
Former US Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy, Installations and Environment

Major General Rick Devereaux, US Air Force (Ret)
Former Director, Operational Planning, Policy and Strategy, Headquarters U.S. Air Force

Rear Admiral Len Hering, US Navy (Ret)
Former Commander, Navy Region Southwest

Andrew Holland
Chief Operating Officer
The American Security Project

Vice Admiral Dennis McGinn, US Navy (Ret)
Former Assistant Secretary of the U.S. Navy for Installations, Energy and Environment

Jane Neilson
Senior Analyst, Climate Change and Security, Policy Branch
New Zealand Ministry of Defence

Colonel GS Dr. Frank Richter
Chief of Branch at the Directorate-General for Security and Defence Policy
Federal Ministry of Defence, Germany

Lieutenant General Norm Seip, US Air Force (Ret)
Former Commander, 12th Air Force

Commander David “Deke” Slayton, US Navy (Ret)
Visiting Fellow and Chair, Arctic Security Initiative
Hoover Institution, Stanford University

General Charles “Chuck” Wald, US Air Force (Ret)
Former Deputy Commander, U.S. European Command

Vice Admiral Ben Bekkering, Netherlands Royal Navy
NATO and EU Military Representatives for the Netherlands

Brigadier General Stephen Cheney, US Marine Corps (Ret)
Former Commanding General, Parris Island Marine Corps Recruit Depot (U.S.)

Australian Department of Defence

Vice Admiral Lee Gunn, US Navy (Ret)
Former Inspector General, U.S. Department of the Navy

Alice Hill
Former Senior Director for Resilience Policy, U.S. National Security Council

General Ron Keys, US Air Force (Ret)
Former Commander, US Air Combat Command

Rear Admiral Neil Morisetti, CB, Royal Navy (Ret)
Former Special Representative for Climate Change, United Kingdom Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Dr. Nicolas Regaud
Special Representative to the Indo-Asia-Pacific, French Ministry of the Armed Forces

Dr. Louise Simonsson
Senior Analyst
Swedish Armed Forces Head Quarters, Total Defense Department

Dr. Michael Thomas
Officer, Australian Army (Ret)
Senior Fellow, the Center for Climate and Security

Joan VanDervort
Former Deputy Director for Ranges, Sea and Airspace, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense (Readiness)

Joining: Joining the IMCCS is by invitation only. However, if you wish to inquire about the possibility of joining, please send an email to info at imccs dot org.